Skip to main content

What’s On

19

Aug
2020
Design Competition for Hong Kong Observatory Tide Gauge Station at Tai Po Kau, New Territories
Local, Competition

       Briefing Session Powerpoint Slides 

       Competition Document    |     Competition Registration    |      Virtual Site Visit Registration     |      Reply to Enquiry     |     Announcement     |     Results

 

Tai Po Kau Tide Gauge Station (TGS) is located at the end of the Tai Po Railway Pier.  The existing TGS, built almost 60 years ago, has a TGS height of 6.2 mCD and needs to be replaced in good time on durability reasons and also to sustain the anticipated higher tide measurement for the Tolo Harbour area.  To ensure public safety, it is important that uninterrupted, timely and accurate measurement of tide data at Tai Po Kau be available for monitoring storm surges at times of tropical cyclone passage.  For protection of the sensitive equipment inside the TGS, it is thus vital that the TGS height will be designed to suitable level so that the equipment and facilities would stay above the sea waves and storm surge associated with tropical cyclones. It was proposed to demolish the existing TGS and reconstruct a new TGS at the same location.  The design competition is arranged to make enhancement to the TGS.

 

Design Competition Events Dates
Registration opens 22 Jul 2020 (Wed)       
Briefing session 29 Jul 2020 (Wed)
Virtual site visit registration deadline 1 Aug 2020 (Sat)
Virtual site visit to Tai Po Kau TGS 8 Aug 2020 (Sat)
Competition enquiry closes 17 Aug 2020 (Mon)
Registration closes 19 Aug 2020 (Wed)
Reply to competition enquiries 24 Aug 2020 (Mon)
Submission entry closes 16 Sep 2020 (Wed)
Adjudication 10 Oct 2020 (Sat)
Announcement of results 2 Nov 2020 (Mon)

 

Official Contact: TGScompetition@hkia.net