Skip to main content

What’s On


The Daylight Award 2022 - Open for Nominations
Overseas, Competition


The Daylight Award is organised to create a closer correlation between research and architecture, emphasising the dependency of theory and practice and connecting the two worlds that should create synergies and strive for better living conditions. The Daylight Award strives to trigger fresh perspectives and provoke new ways of thinking among researchers and practitioners. 

The Daylight Award for Research will be given to an individual or a group of researchers whose work puts special emphasis on the effects of daylight on human health, well-being and performance. 

The jury will look for focus on daylight as a key element in the research work of the nominees. The nominations are open to all areas of research such as natural science, human science or social science. 

The Daylight Award for Architecture is awarded to individuals or a group of architects or other professionals whose projects and works showcase unique use of – and dedication to daylight. Special emphasis will be put on series of works that consider the overall quality of human life, its value to the society and impact on the environment. 

The Daylight Award will actively solicit nominations from professional organisations, architects, researchers and other professionals who have an expertise and interest in the field of daylight research and daylight in architecture. Additionally, the Award accepts individual nominations from professionals. The nominations open on 16 May 2021, UN/UNESCO’s International Day of Light, and will end by 30 September 2021. Mail address: 

The Jury will undertake deliberations during the following months, and the 2022 laureates will be announced on 16 May 2022. 

For more details, please visit the Daylight Award website

PHOTO: 2020 Daylight Award Laureate Juha Leiviskä's Vallila Library, Helsinki (Finland), photo by Arno de la Chapelle