Skip to main content

What’s On


UIA Prizes - LIVING MOSQUE: Nominations open for the 4th cycle of the Abdullatif Al Fozan Award
Overseas, Competition


The Abdullatif Al Fozan Award is now accepting nominations for its fourth cycle. The UIA endorsed the third, and today the fourth edition of the Award. Nominated candidatures for this cycle may come from any country in the world, but should address not only the religious, but also the social function of the mosque as an urban hub.  The triennial award, founded by Shaikh Abdullatif Al Fozan in 2011, recognises excellence in mosque architecture and the merger of tradition and innovation represented by the contemporary mosque. This is the second edition of the Award which has been endorsed by the International Union of Architects.

In addition to the three original categories – Central Mosques, Neighbourhood Mosques and Friday (Juma’) Mosques – the Abdullatif Al Fozan Foundation has included two more categories of mosque: Prayer Halls (Musalla) and Smart Mosques


 All mosques must be original architectural work, built after the year 2000 and in current use. No previous recipients of the Abdullatif Al Fozan Award will be accepted.


 1 April 2020 – Nominations open for the 4th cycle of the Award

31 March 2021 – Nomination period closed

31 January 2022 – Jury meeting to decide shortlisted candidate

1 November 2022 – Jury Meeting to decide final winners

March 2023 – Announcement of winners


 The members of the international jury will be announced shortly.


Nominations can be submitted: